unique and personalized gifts

Printer Print this page
personalized pocket compass
Expertly crafted by a family-owned company in the Scottish Highlands, this high-quality compass is styled after an old-fashioned pocket watch. Its high-tech engineering provides fast, clear and reliable readings. A substantially sized piece, this pocket compass will become a treasured heirloom for generations to come.
  • made of stainless steel
  • liquid-filled military-standard capsule
  • quick-settling tungsten-steel needle on a jewel bearing
  • interior lid features a world map
  • 2 3/4" diam.
  • compass opens by pulling up on the spring-loaded pommel; releasing the lid
  • dalvey voyager model
  • may be engraved with up to three initials
customer reviews
overall:
5
kwessels
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Lovely gift April 29, 2014
"I purchased this gift for my husband's graduation ceremony. It arrived beautifully wrapped, and was even lovelier out of the box. My husband loves the quality of the piece, and the engraving looks great. Thanks so much!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Wasn't impressed March 28, 2014
"I got this for my husband for our 5 year wedding anniversary. He's really into pocket watches and travels quite a bit, I thought it would be the perfect gift. I read the reviews and should have listened to them. It's rather large, which makes it seem like a cheap knock off. The clasp is hard to use, ignore the directions, pull the knob out. The map is a sticker - of Europe and Africa. The inside metal is very cheap. The only nice part about it was the engraving and box. I didn't feel great about my present."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
Robin C.
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Pretty, but not a usable compass December 30, 2013
"Don't purchase if you expect to use this compass. It will not open easily, if at all. I had it monogrammed, so we are stuck with it. It will be in the Goodwill box before long."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
Kath
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Cheap looking December 28, 2013
"Pretty disappointed in how cheap it looks. It's rather large too. Not the hand held version you would expect. Anyway, I was sort of embarrassed when my husband opened it at Christmas. Just didn't wow either of us."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Susan
location:
Virginia
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great gift December 26, 2013
"This was a Christmas gift for my husband who was quite intrigued with the novelty of the gift and the compass itself. The quality is very high and the way it is packaged makes it a beautiful gift! Can't say enough about the presentation- it looked like it was carefully packaged instead of just thrown in an oversized box for shipping. Adding his initials made it an extra special gift. It was a little larger than I expected, but truly a very well received gift! It also arrived quickly. A very positive shopping experience!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
madmad56
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Very good quality December 19, 2013
"Lovely pocket compass. I was impressed with the workmanship and look of the piece. Beautifully engraved and it is a very nice compass to look at. I am pleased with this purchase. thanks, Mady"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
jojopocket compass
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
excellent purchase June 20, 2013
"my son was very happy to receive his compass as it was very pretty. He also enjoyed the personal touch of his initials. shipping was very quick as promised."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
unhappy
location:
san francisco.ca.
0
FEATURED REVIEW
dissappointed May 04, 2013
"The picture and description are beautiful. The compass case is large and beautiful. The engraving is lovely. I could open it easily, however, I was so unhappy with the "cracker jack" prize water filled compass. It is plastic and the atlas picture is a sticker. Looks expensive on the outside but like a cheap toy on the inside. Not happy with my purchase for the price."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
Terry
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful but hard to open April 10, 2013
"I ordered this product twice. The first time I sent back because it would not "pop" open as it stated in the description. Had to fight to get it open. Sent that one back and the same thing happened on the 2nd. Since I have run up on a deadline of an anniversary present I decided to keep it. You can open it but it takes a little work."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
MoximusPrime
location:
Louisville, KY
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great gift! March 26, 2013
"My boyfriend and I travel a lot so I got him this as an anniversary present and he LOVED it! It has nice weight to it and the design is beautiful. It will be something we pass down in the family for generations. The only thing I would change is how the compass opens; it would be much nicer if it had a pop open mechanism, similar to a pocket watch. Other than that this is a GREAT product!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
RonnieTJ
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful! March 08, 2013
"Gorgeous. A bit larger than I thought. But a beautiful product. The catch/opening does need to be re-designed. Almost returned it because catch was not popping the lid open. Works a bit better now that we figured it out. My boyfriend LOVED it. Nice gift wrapping also!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful compass February 28, 2013
"This compass really is beautiful! The box it comes in is very classy and has an excellent presentation on its own. The compass is beautiful, but it definitely shows finger prints! So, if you are like me and open it up before you give it, then make sure you have a soft cloth ready to clean it up after! This compass has a rotating dial which is great. This compass definitely shows its quality"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Lizbeth
location:
Chattanooga
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Highly recommended gift for someone special February 27, 2013
"I purchased this as a gift for my boyfriend for Valentine's Day. He absolutely loved it!!! He said "this is the most thoughtful gift I have ever received" It was a nice personal touch to be able to add his initials, the only negative was I was not able to engrave a special message."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Pascoite
location:
Pasco, WA
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Much nicer than expected February 27, 2013
"I was delighted with this compass. It is beautiful and my husband loves it."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
cindynic
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Gift February 14, 2013
"Great presentation, wonderful quality. Better than anticipated."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Danibe
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Compass January 17, 2013
"Bought this for my husband for a anniversary gift. He really liked it, said it was Awesome. So I would say yes to a recommendation to others. Thanks once again Red Envelope!!!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
RedIrish
location:
North Jersey
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Very Special Gift January 08, 2013
"Got this for my boyfriend for Christmas and had it engraved, he LOVED it. It came packaged in a beautiful box and was polished and perfect. Decent sized and has an old nautical map on the inner lid, really great gift for his 'old soul.' He can't wait to show it off to our friends!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
bethK
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Lovely, but.... January 07, 2013
"Beautiful to look at but the lid didn't work correctly. The spring pommel release worked fine, but the top would not 'pop' open as it should. I returned the original and have just received the replacement, which does seem to work. Red Envelope replaced the defective compass quickly but, based on other reviews, this seems to be an ongoing issue. It's quite beautiful, but you'll have to take your chances and be prepared to exchange if necessary."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
houstonian
location:
Houston, tx
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Classic design, great gift December 31, 2012
"Great gift, presentation was very nice. It has a good weight to it too."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
anne
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Junk December 28, 2012
"Metal is Hollow,a plastic piece covers the compass, expensive piece of junk with a sticker for a map-you call that high quality?!. The only thing about this piece is that it opens easy. I bought this for my husband but was too embarrassed to give it to him. Never buy a piece like this over the internet very expensive lesson learned. So disappointed."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Paradise Valley, Arizona
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Pocket compass December 27, 2012
"Nice quality; feels substantial. Beautifully engraved-a nice keepsake. After receiving the first one, I have ordered an additional one! It was beautifully wrapped as well! Thank you!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
ownapup
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Not quite December 24, 2012
"The packaging for and outside of the compass was nice but the mechanism to open the compass was difficult to work making it seem cheap. The compass wasn't quite the quality I expected for the price."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Janelle
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Love it! December 22, 2012
"I got this for my boyfriend because he loves to hike and the outdoors. It is beautiful! It's easy to open and very accurate. It also has the option to attach a chain to it. It's bigger than I thought it would be but that doesn't matter. I would definitely reccommend to anyone to get this for any outdoors lover."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
December 11, 2012
"Beautiful gift - gave it to my friend for his retirement gift and he loved it. This is a guy who has every electronic toy but this compass blew him away."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
kitten
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Nice December 07, 2012
"Beautiful product. Opening a bit catchy - wish they would fix that. Otherwise - my husband loved it!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
fran
location:
Long Island NY
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Pocket compass December 03, 2012
"I couldn't be happier with the compass. The engraving came out perfect and the quality is excellent. My husband will love it."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
snyderp2
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Awesome :) October 25, 2012
"I got this compass for my boyfriend for our one year anniversary and he loved it! I also got his initials engraved on the top (totally worth it). It was a great gift for him because we love to travel and it is something he can keep with him because it's not to big. Nicely made and pretty to look at!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Jenni
location:
New York City, NY
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful Piece! August 30, 2012
"This is honestly a gorgeous compass. Several reviews noted its size, which is indeed large - still, the dimensions are clearly noted on the purchase page for this item, so you shouldn't be surprised. I actually like the large size - I think it adds to its regal look :) I gifted this to my boyfriend for his birthday, and he (and everyone else at the party) just BEAMED. It is very sleek, classy, has a great shine, the compass needle moves very smoothly with no wobble, and no air bubbles in the liquid. It's a very well-made product! The only negative I have is the opening clasp. It's not difficult to open (you pull it, instead of push), but pulling the latch makes for a cumbersome open... and you also have to pull the latch again in order to close it, rather than simply being able to click the compass closed like you would for a pocketwatch. Not sure why it was made this way with a pull latch for open/close, instead of a push-click latch? All in all, however - I still love this product. My boyfriend adores it, and is actually on a hiking trip using it right now! It makes for a beautiful, classy gift :D"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Sweet Pea
location:
Louisiana
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Exceeded my expectations August 30, 2012
"I was a little hesitant because other reviews indicated that the latch was difficult to open, but we did not experience that problem. The perfect gift with a little extra class for an outdoorsman who has everything!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
RetailQueen
location:
Dublin, OH
0
FEATURED REVIEW
LOVE this! August 19, 2012
"I have wanted to buy this for my husband for quite some time & finally made the purchase! My husband is in the military and currently deployed. When not overseas on deployment, he travels for work frequently. This is the perfect gift that is practical for his travels, yet reminds him that he has a wife & family that is waiting for him at home! Perfect gift for the traveling loved one!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Phelicia
location:
south carolina
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Loved it, for the most part... August 13, 2012
"I bought this as a gift for my father's birthday. Needless to say we were both happy with the all around finished product. I would of given it a 5, but the only flaw was the opening of the compass. When we tried to open it, as the instructions said, it would not. We have to pull the end to open it, instead of push. Regardless, my father loves it!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
JMarie
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Awesome Gift!!! Super Nice!!! August 03, 2012
"WOW!!! So glad I didn't listen to the bad reviews. This is a beautiful gift. I'm getting it as a wedding present to my future husband on our wedding day. I took the advice of someone else's review an I'm having the back of it engraved at Things Remembered. The girl at Things Remebered went on an on at how much she loved it. I think my future husband will too!!! It's not hard to open at all. All you do is pull up on the top an it comes right open. If you cant open this, then I'm seriously worried how you get around town on a daily basis. If you want an elegant gift, definitely buy this!! You will not be disappointed. An shipping was lightning fast!! So happy with this. Comes in a really nice box too."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
gingin
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
tool for exploring the world as a college freshman June 18, 2012
"Purchased the pocket compass for my grand-daughter's HS graduation...she was thrilled with the gift wrap and even more over her initials on the top. She spent last summer in Cambodia, 6 months in Cyprus, and her first year of life in Australia! Symbolically it was the perfect gift - we'll see if its practicality lives up to its purpose!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Britbabe
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Eclectic gift for the man who has "everything" June 18, 2012
"If you are looking for something out of the usual this should fit the bill .. it's elegant & comes beautifully packaged. However personalization is a must - engraving adds that extra element of TLC."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Brandee
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Very nice piece May 17, 2012
"I bought this for my husband for our 25th anniversary. He really liked it, I thought the quality was nice, but opening it was not easy. The directions that is comes with aren't very precise, so it took some doing to get it opened, even for my husband who is mechanically inclined. Overall, I was happy with it and thought it was a nice gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
James
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Gift! May 10, 2012
"My Godson LOVED this gift for his 1st Communion. It was a bit annoying trying to open it however, but once you figure it out (you pull out on the top round knob to separate the flip-open top part and you do the same to close it) it's fine. It is a fingerprint/smudge magnet as well but none of this takes away from the excitement of the person receiving this great gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
R Lopez
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great momento May 08, 2012
"The compass was bought as a college graduation gift. It was a perfect momento for my son as he will be a world traveller. The only negative is that it is very difficult to open. I was worried it would be broken the couple times we opened it to see the inside."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Thompson
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Impressive March 15, 2012
"After searching the internet for a very nice pocket compass, this is the only one out there I could find...and so glad I did! I'll be ordering more as holidays and birthdays come up. Red Envelope, please keep this available in the catalog always."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
paolita
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Valentine's February 28, 2012
"Great Valentine's present, timely, unique, personalized, old fashion and new fashion. Simple unforgetable"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
maryjane
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
on the fence February 27, 2012
"As per other reviews this piece is a little larger than it appears and although it states it is stainless steel it feels somewhat lightweight and "flimsy". On the other hand it is a nice looking piece and an original type of gift. Jury still out."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
blackbird
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
poor release mechanism February 20, 2012
"The spring isn't tight enough to open the face more than 1/8" when the clasp is released. It is very difficult to open. I would return it if it weren't engraved."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Tiki
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Compass January 22, 2012
"The compass is a good size, it fits easily into the palm of an adult hand. The finish on it is lovely, an all-metal exterior and the engraving is a nice touch. It is a bit tricky to open, but once you read the instructions it is a cinch. A unique piece and a great gift for that "I have everything" kind of person."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
pcaba
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Monogramming very nice January 19, 2012
"I bought this for a christmas gift, and I always like to personalize things. The quality is really nice, and the monogram was a bit large in size, but still good. The box and presentation was equally impressive. I'd get this gift again! A good value for the $$ spent."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
January 09, 2012
"the quality is great, but it is pretty big to fit in pocket."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Gummi
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Exceptional Gift the Pocket Compass January 06, 2012
"I was really impressed when the compass arived. It was really nice I was expecting something the size of a 50 cent piece, but in reality its a nice size you can see it really well. I had his initials put on the front. When he opened he love it ,even the dial choosing the direction your going turns to where you can find your way, next. It was exceptional nice, he said it was too nice to take hunting. I asked him you want me to just send it back he said no I like it, I said I got it for yu to use. We went got a pocket watch chain for it. Now he can use it."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
NannsNotes
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful! January 04, 2012
"I ordered this as a Christmas gift - its beautiful and works well! This is an item that will be kept and passed down for many many years to come."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
Shopping Queen
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Not a wow December 29, 2011
"I purchased this compass for my husband who collects nautical pieces, some antique, some just interesting looking. While he likes the inside, it was very difficult to open. With 2 people reading the directions and trying, it finally opened with the use of a finger nail. After unwrapping it for Christmas, my husband also could not open it and we finally showed him the trick and then the compass section unglued from the case and fell out. He likes it and we will just reglue it, but I was disappointed that it fell apart. He's just going to leave it open on his desk."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Shana
location:
Houston, TX
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great sentimental gift December 29, 2011
"Beautiful piece of work! Worth the money to have it engraved. My boyfriend loved it and said it was one of his favorite christmas gifts."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
Wife
location:
San Diego, CA
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Gift December 28, 2011
"Wish it was a bit smaller not really what I expected for a pocket compass..."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Joyful
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful pocket compass December 28, 2011
"I wanted to get my husband a special gift he could someday pass on to our daughters or grandchildren. This beautiful, engraved compass was much nicer than I thought it would! The attention to detail and the craftsmanship make this a special gift for the man that doesn't want for much."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Nikki
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Very satisfied December 27, 2011
"I received the pocket compass and it is absolutely beautiful! The quality is very good and the detail is stunning. My fiance loved it and it is proudly displayed on our collector shelf."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
CompassMan
location:
Las Vegas
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Kinda Cheap and Awkward December 23, 2011
"Most pocket watch style cases have a button on the fob that is pressed to open it. This case requires pulling the fob, making it impossible to open with one hand, and not exactly easy with two hands. Inside the case is a cheap plastic compass. The polished case scratches if you look at it wrong. Ten years ago Dalvey made nice items, but their quality has really gone downhill. There are better and less expensive compasses out there."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Pamela
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Wonderful Boss gift December 21, 2011
"My coworkers and I bought this for my boss and he loved it! It's a really beautiful piece - especially great for someone who has everything, and you're wanting to find a meaningful keepsake. The monogragamming added an elegant touch. I was very pleased with the packaging and also customer service. Thanks!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Smilwa
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
A real compass November 03, 2011
"I purchased this pocket compass as a gift for a pilot. He absolutely loved it and was impress with the quality as well as his engraved initials. I like that it came with two informational pieces about the compass and it was boxed well and ready to wrap up as a gift but I do wish the packaging inside the box was a little nicer. I think this will be a cherished and timeless gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Missy
location:
Flagstaff, AZ
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Graduation Gift! October 21, 2011
"I purchased this compass as a college graduation gift for my now fiance. It arrived beautifully packaged and looked much nier than the pictures make it out to be. I am a little concerned with the functionalty of the compass itself, but I think it should be used more as a display piece. I was able to take it to Things Remembered and had it engraved with a message on the back, which made it even more special. He loves it!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Anonymous
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Pocket Compass September 25, 2011
"This is a beautiful, well-made gift. I have given it to family and friends and, all have been amazed and appreciative. If I could change one thing, I would want the option for hand-engraving."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
mt mom
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
ok August 22, 2011
"I spent a great deal of time attempting to get the order correct. I went through all the check out and my order erased and my engraving of the initials went away as well. I was glad I paid attention since I called the number and the customer service person got the information correct. It will take a lot for me to want to order from Red Envelope again. I actually had more items in my cart that were deleted as well, and I decided against ordering them. As for the compass, it is ok. The quality is a bit poor and I am concerned that the heirloom quality of this may not last. My husband is thrilled with it and says he will use it hunting which is the only reason I will keep it. The presentation is good, as far as the packaging, but again, I am concerned with the longevity."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Starfish529
location:
Southern Indiana
0
FEATURED REVIEW
My husband LOVES his new Compass June 21, 2011
"I just purchased this compass for my husband for the occasion of our 34th Wedding Anniversary. I asked that it be shipped to our home on a certain date and it was delivered on that date with no problems. He opened it up and absolutely loves it. It is engraved with his initials and there was not a scratch on it. The finish is shiny and beautiful. He was very happy to receive it and will treasure it for years. Hope everyone has the same experience we have had with it."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
Katr
location:
California
0
FEATURED REVIEW
A nice keepsake, not an heirloom May 19, 2011
"This is a nice piece but it's a bit "cheaper" than I hoped. I'm not sure how well it will hold up. But it's a good option. It's probably worth more like $50 than what they charge."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
location:
Orlando, FL
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Graduation gift April 05, 2011
"The compass was purchased as a graduation gift to my son. It is nicely packaged and the engraving looks great. The compass itself was polished (not scratched up as some reviewers have said). The mechanism to open it was a little tight, but I'm sure over the years, that will be a welcome feature. I think the natural inclination is to push down on the fob, but you pull up instead. I think it's a beautiful piece and I'm hoping my son will appreciate the gift, as well as the symbolism."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Horsin' Around
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Very Nice February 27, 2011
"I bought this as a Valentine's gift for my husband. He was surprised that I went to all the trouble to find something so different. Since I had read the reviews before hand, I figured out how to open it before I gave it to him. It was bigger than I thought it would be but that is a good thing."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
IndiraR
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Love it February 24, 2011
"This is a classy gift, close to a collectors item. It comes in a nice pretty box, all shiny and engraved. At first I was scared because of all the reviews saying how it was hard to open: it is not. The thing is, when you first open the instructions to open it, it has the instructions to open a different compass model, so here is one trying to press the thing open when instead you have to pull. The instructions to open this model are on page 2... and it is very easy to open. Since it looks so good - and it's kind of large (a handful) - I wouldn't consider it a compass to actually take on travels (I'd be making sure I didn't loose it) but it's all up to the owner. Again: it is a beautiful gift, and I am almost keeping it to myself :)... With some luck, the person receiving it will like it as much."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
teamgenson
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
He loved it February 20, 2011
"I read all the reviews on this pocket compass and at best they were mixed. I could not find any other pocket compass that I like as much so I chose this for my husband for valentines day. He loved it! We had no issue opening it as some reviewers had mention. The instructions are for 2 different compasses. The opening is different on each of them. Once we realized we had to pull vs. push the button it did open fairly easily. It is bigger then a pocket watch. It was delivered on time. Overall a good purchase."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
CrazyDiamond
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Quality could be Just a tad better February 14, 2011
". This compass is fairly nice. It has some good points and bad points I think. What I like about it is it's size and how right out of the box it's well presented and highly polished. Doesn't look like the kind of navigation tool you would readily take on every hiking trip because it's TOO pretty. Thankfully, I read on the web page how to open it before it came otherwise I too would have been frustrated with it. It looks like a giant pocket watch, not an uncommon design. And to open it, you have to pull UP on the "Crown" to release the lid unlike a common pocket watch where normally, you'd push down on the "Crown" to open the lid. My only other hang ups are it's weight. For it's visual size, it feels awfully light. I have owned several military compasses that are heavier but smaller so this thing is pretty much hollow front to back. And my other hang up is the map thing on the inside. It's just a sticker and it wasn't even laid in very well because mine came off center. Kind of disappointing for the price paid. Could have at least been a spray coated image, I know they can be done in that size with a special type of plotter. Overall, it's relatively nice and I plan to keep mine because I know it will be handy when hiking. Call me old school, but I just don't trust GPS's. These compasses, if made right and made well is pretty much a flawless navigation tool. And this one seems to fit the bill nicely."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
size too big February 10, 2011
"The compass is twice the size I anticipated. I unfornutely had it engraved or I would return it. If it were halve that size, I think it would have been the elegant gift I expected. At it's size it is just tacky and too big for a man to carry. I am very disappointed in the item. I would not recommend."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
lala
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful, but... December 31, 2010
"The compass is beautiful, but very difficult to open, and the directions weren't much help. My husband finally figured it out and was very impressed with his gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
grma
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Very Pretty December 29, 2010
"This compass is very pretty & elegant. My only problem is getting it open. It doesn't just pop open; you have to dig it open with fingernails. Despite that, it's nice to look at."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
a_hokie
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Very nice gift December 28, 2010
"The compass is very nice and makes a great gift. The overall look is elegant and it is nice and sturdy (well-made). The only flaw is that the sticker on the inside seems a bit, well, cheap. For the price, you would think it would be a bit nicer. Overall, I am pleased with this purchase."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
rollingflintstone
location:
memphis, tn
0
FEATURED REVIEW
This watch is huge! December 19, 2010
"This is the biggest pocket watch I have ever seen in my life. It is about the size of a small hamburger. I almost never got it to open and I thought I was going to have to send it back for that reason alone"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
daniela
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
nice item December 15, 2010
"it is a nice item as the picture shows. The only negative thing is that is hard to open thank you"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
KaiT
location:
New England
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Got The Reaction I Wanted! December 13, 2010
"I ordered this as a gift for a very special person and the reaction I got? "Best. Christmas. Gift. Ever." in his reply email!! I only wish I could've seen the product in person but that will have to wait until I visit."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
December 06, 2010
"Product inoperable - compass does not open. RE sending replacement, but not yet received. Customer service, at least, was very polite."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
Leon
location:
Los Angeles, CA
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Too large and lacks old world quality December 05, 2010
"This item is too large to be carried regularly as a pocket compass. (Most antique pocket watches and pocket compasses were around 1.75 - 2 inches in diameter) There are sites that sell antique pocket compasses which still function as well as they did the day were made and they are high quality instruments. I would recommend an antique pocket compass if you are looking for a quality gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
bootsy
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
I used to get lost in my closet! December 02, 2010
"thats right....i used to get lost all the time....my closet, at work, i have even got lost looking for the lost and found bin at my church!---- now I know where North, South, East and West is......this is great!!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
djsh
location:
TX
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Gift November 30, 2010
"I am excited to give this compass to my son-in-law for Christmas. It is beautiful and, of course, the addition of his initials on the top of the compass makes it even more special. It is larger than expected, but beautiful. It is a bit difficult to open. You just have to be patient and it will get easier to open each time. I love it and I just know my son-in-law will as well. I recommend this for anyone who loves the outdoors...or for someone you just want to give an heirloom that will last for years to come."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
gorgegirl
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Couldn't be happier! November 01, 2010
"I am so happy I found the pocket compass! I gave it to my husband for our 10 year anniversary and he loved it. It was larger than I had pictured in my head and was packaged beautifully! I couldn't have done better. My husband was shocked and so excited to get something that he could use and love and pass on to our son someday. Great choice you will not be disappointed!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
deeganza
location:
Southern Cal
0
FEATURED REVIEW
For the man who has everything compass October 29, 2010
"I bought this compass for my boss who has everything. I read the reviews after I had sent for the compass so I was leery about the difficulty to open it and the size. However, it is a beautiful piece and my boss loved it! I think I got more reaction from him on this gift than any other and I have worked for him for 16 years. I highly recommend this gift. It was not that hard to open and size doesn't matter! Ha!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Chuck
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Compass October 18, 2010
"This came beautifully polished and set in a nice gift box. I bought it for my husband on our anniversary, and he is very pleased."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
Lulu
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Top 50 Contributor
October 06, 2010
"I agree with Equa's review. The compass is beautiful, and I love that it can be engraved. However, the plastic face makes it feel very cheap. At this price point, that shouldn't be the case."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
pre12
location:
hartford, ct
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Was okay August 31, 2010
"this cannot be called a pocket compass, as its too big for a pocket. otherwise the compass looks good"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
Mother-In-Law
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Top 1000 Contributor
30th Birthday Gift Bomb August 13, 2010
"Purchased this as a special 30th birthday gift for my son-in-law who has always enjoyed unique and different gift items. Didn't even receive a mention from him on the phone not even a thank you of any kind. Later my daughter told me he was disappointed and didn't know what to do with this gift. I was sad. There was no complaint of the actual item so I guess I missed the mark and will probably go with gift cards from now on! :("
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
compass July 26, 2010
"I just ordered this for my husband's anniversary gift! He's been taking up hiking and I loved the idea of a pocket compass. I had seen where others had written that it was a bit large and I agree. BUT, I love the look of it and honestly wanted it more from a standpoint of a keepsake rather than a functional item. He loves pocket watches and I liked the idea that this had that same look. If you read the directions on how to open it, there's no problem. (Noticed that seemed to be a common complaint). I liked the idea it was a bit more difficult to open because that way it won't spring open in a pocket, etc and scratch. I'm very happy with my purchase and feel it looks way more expensive than it was!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)