unique and personalized gifts

Printer Print this page
story of a lifetime
Our loved ones make their footprints in the shifting sands of time, says author Pamela Pavuk. This beautiful memoir is an attempt to capture those footprints—not just for the person telling and recording the story but also for his and her family and for generations to come. The large, heavy-bound matte-finish hardcover book chronicles a person's life by asking questions, from "What is a typical family meal?" to "What was your engagement proposal like?" From the simple to the provocative, it asks almost 500 questions about careers, college, leaving home, parental relationships, raising kids, traditions and milestones. A great tool for self-discovery and reflection, the memoir is appropriate for all who want to learn more about themselves and to pass along their discoveries to the next generation.
  • includes a family tree section
  • features inspirational quotes from famous authors, playwrights, philosophers and the Bible
  • 384 pages
  • measures 8 1/2" x 11 1/4" x 1 1/2"
  • made in USA
customer reviews
overall:
5
Inus
location:
Omaha, Neb
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Recommend this book to everyone August 14, 2012
"I bought this book of questions to answer about my life, to be filled out by me with photos, etc, almost as an accident. But once I received it, I knew I had made no mistake. This book should be a "must have" for everyone as they get older. It allows you to leave behind your life as you saw it, for anyone interested after you are gone. There must be several hundred questions in this nicely bound book ( with gold edges on paper and embossed with your name if you choose.) I am just skipping around and answering questions as my memory conjures them up. This is one of those things that you give as a gift to yourself as well as anyone else."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Bowielover23
location:
Chicago, IL
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Wonderful Family Idea July 09, 2012
"This is a great family activity for the ages, something to remember your grandparents or parents with that you can pass down to the next generation. Im happy to do this with all of the older family members i have, its a great learning experience and bonding experience as well."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
2nd puchase of this item May 22, 2012
"Got this as a gift for my wife in the past and my parents this time around. Great gift and has a plethora of subjects covered where anyone will be able to find topics to add information about their life story."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
djnc
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Gift February 11, 2012
"My wife thought this was the best gift ever. She cried for 30 minutes."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Higgy
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Family Gift January 10, 2012
"This is a great gift for the family. We gave this to both sets of grandparents for Christmas as we are expecting our first child. A wonderful way to keep your family history alive!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Thoughtful gift January 03, 2012
"I had purchased this for a very good friend and he was very happy with the gift. He could not stop talking about how much the book could inspire him to right his own story of a lifetime. He was also very impressed wtih the packaging it arrived in....Very beautiful!!!!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
FL88
location:
FL
0
FEATURED REVIEW
interesting purchase December 29, 2011
"Gave as a gift to my wife - only "problem" is some of the questions are not female oriented - like remembering their armed forces service times. It would be nice if they had a book for F & M choice."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Mona218
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Gift for any Family December 29, 2011
"I bought this for a close cousin of mine for his family. They were overwhelmed and mentioned that they had no idea that there were such books out there. They loved it. They have 2 grown children that are both married and have 2 children each of their own. I think it's an amazing keepsake."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Fine Wine
location:
Central California
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Top 1000 Contributor
Great gift! December 29, 2011
"I purchased this item as a Christmas gift for my mother of 65 years of age. She has always talked about writing a book, but never did anything about it. Serious or not, I wanted to give her the opportunity. I think the best part about this book is that it offers the owner an opportunity to share memories and stories and really document a lifetime...and it offers prompts to help the author along the way. I'm sure my mother would have no idea where to start, but now she does! This will be a fantastic experience for her and will provide wonderful, loving documentation for the future. I think this would be an especially wonderful gift for a grandparent...either to write on his/her own, or perhaps with a child or grandchild as the recorder."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
#1 Daughter
location:
Bergen County, NJ
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Best Gift Ever! December 27, 2011
"I purchased this as a gift for my mother, She's very interested in preserving history for future generations and she began making notes for her grandchildren as soon as she opened it. This was a perfect gift for the person who has everything."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
LorI
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Trying to capture my Mother's life December 16, 2011
"I remember all the stories my Mother has told me through the years but not in detail...now I can get those details in her handwriting in her words...and this book leads her through remembering those details"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
annbev
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
The Story of a Lifeetime December 08, 2011
"My daughters and I purchased this book for my parents (their grandparents) for Christmas. It is a beautiful book, well made with heavy paper inside. All their children and grandchildren are writing a letter to them describing what their personal experience has been and placing it in the book to be wrapped for Christmas. It will be a great beginning for them to start writing their memoirs."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
The Mrs.
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
I AM IN LOVE October 05, 2011
"I have used genealogy as a tool to heal old wounds. This book made me laugh, cry and most importantly, it provoked thought. There were many times that a question took me to a place in time that needed to be revisited for whatever reason. I have recommended it to many people in my life, as it has healing qualities. I want my children and future Grandchildren to really know who I was as a child and an adult. I would have to say that if the house were on fire, I would grab this book.........accolades"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
NANA 2 7
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful, Thoughtful gift October 02, 2011
"I am an avid family researcher and am always looking for guides and gifts for this meaningful hobby. I had a dear Friend recently celebrate her 50th Birthday. I gifted her ' Story of a Lifetime'. This book is a great gift not only to her, but to her Family. She can now record her lifes events, feelings, hopes and dreams. She was very excited to start recording her own 'Story of a Lifetime!'"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Didi
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Top 500 Contributor
April 28, 2011
"I really like the book but I wish you could personalize the cover."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
Pumkin
location:
Atlanta Georgia
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Story of a Lifetime April 05, 2011
"I sent this book to my uncle for his 91st birthday. To my surprise, he called me to tell me that the book reminded him of a funeral sign-in book. He felt that the book was for the end of people's lives. He than told me that he was returning the book. I felt terrible, I thought this book was more of a scrapebook of people's lives not their death. I guess I will have to buy him something fun. Unfortunately, my uncle will be sending the book back for a refund to me."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Renee
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Top 1000 Contributor
Inspirational Gift March 22, 2011
"We gave this as a gift for a 40th Wedding Anniversary. Our friends were very touched and are looking forward to capturing memories for their family to read in the future. Very touching gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
4 aces
location:
buffalo, ny
0
FEATURED REVIEW
excellent buy March 03, 2011
"I bought 4 with in the last 2 months, It is the perfect gift for any occasion I bought 1 as a wedding gift 1 for a retirement present 1 for my grandmother to give her something to read and write in when she is bored and 1 for a grieving widow so when he is lonely and thinking of missing his wife he could use this book as an outlet to focus on his life with his beloved wife! I just wish it was a little less expensive but hey we live in the real world the book is priceless!!!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
paiya
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Nice book February 20, 2011
"We plan to give this book to our Grandfather on his 80th birthday and are confident that he will like it very much. We also look forward to reading what he gets around to filling in!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
rony
location:
Johnson City
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Nice gift on 50th Birthday February 02, 2011
"I was looking for a gift for a person who has everything; when I saw this I liked it and when I actually received it, I liked it even more and was also appreciated by my friend whom I gifted this."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
reviewer1
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Religious Overtones February 01, 2011
"I bought this for my sister-in-law as I thought it would be an amazing gift for her. She is a writer. Well the description never said anything about having religious over-tones but it has scripture from the New Testament. I should note that she is Jewish. It was very upsetting for me to find this out after she was insulted."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Kiwi
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
An Excellent gift and Keepsake January 17, 2011
"I purchased the brown ones for my son-in-laws and my husband and the green one for my daughters for Christmas. Everyone loved them and they all assumed I purchased one for myself. I had not. However, I did so the next day."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
TimTom
location:
Pottstown, PA
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Unexpected accolades & excitement December 31, 2010
"My wife opened on Christmas morning, and seemed genuinely surprised, intrigued and delighted. However, the big surprise was from our 12yyr. old grandaughter, who wanted her Grandmother to stop opening her gifts and start filling in the answers, as in immediately, so she could find out more about her "Gam", who is her best friend and mentor. I have no doubt a lot of "good stuff" will be shared, but never make it in to the book."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
Shella Bella
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Book of a Lifetime December 30, 2010
"I got this book for my Dad because everyone thought that it was a great idea (he writes down everything, even the date of his and my Mom's first date). The first thing he said when he opened it was "it's very big". It is bigger than I thought that it would be, but I was very pleased to see how nice it was (I got the one with the green leather cover). My sister and my Mom said that they would help him answer the questions, and of course I will as well. I still think that it was a great gift and that we'll learn a lot about my Dad that we didn't already know."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great gift for someone who has everything December 29, 2010
"I gave this to my father-in-law. He has wanted to find a way to share his life story with his grandchildren. This book helped him to do it in a structured way. I hope this is something that will remain in our family for a long time."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
HZigli
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great way to capture memories! December 28, 2010
"My mother loves this product and is looking forward to capturing the memories of her life :)"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
James
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Needs name imprinted December 27, 2010
"The puchasing was satisfactory but it must have the name imprinted to make the right impact. Way to difficult to get it done. Unsatisfactory and disappointing."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
NewRedEnvelopeCustomer
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Classy Binding, OK Inside December 27, 2010
"Real classy looking book for sure. (The hardback edition, inside the book itself looks OK.) The questions inside are well suited to prompt your loved one for some interesting and insightful responses. Things To improve: over-priced, more book binding color options needed (in case you want to share with two people, like parents for instance). There should be a custom engraving/monogram or naming option for this product (especially from this store.) Overall, if you have someone willing to fill this book/journal out, it will be a priceless family treasure. For that possibility alone, it is a worthwhile buy & gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Anna
location:
1
FEATURED REVIEW
Top 250 Contributor
December 27, 2010
"I purchased this book for my grandparents and parents this year to preserve their memories and stories. The book is a very nice presentation and the quesitons prompted are perfect. Everyone loved the thought and gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Son for a Mother
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Gift!! December 27, 2010
"Ordered this for my Mother for Christmas...she loves it. Can't wait for her to "re-gift" it back to my family so we can get a glimps of her life that would otherwise have been lost forever. Great idea."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Alexis
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Wonderful gift December 26, 2010
"I bought this for my husband and I to fill out on our second christmas together. It has so many questions about family and your lives before and after each other. A wonderful thing to fill up through the years and pass on to the children when they get older."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
jrios
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
great gift December 24, 2010
"I been giving this book to all my friends bday and they love it. Its a must for any special person in your life"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
sbrown
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
A treasure December 20, 2010
"I bought the "Story of Lifetime" for 2 very dear friends for Christmas. I haven't given it to them but after the purchase, I thought it would have been nice if the books were personalized."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
snowflake in Alaska
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Story of a Lifetime December 16, 2010
"Just received my 2 copies today. Liked looking through the book and am going to order two more. I have 4 children. I am going to write in the books for them to have. Of course, there will be a time when their names will be in the books, too; as I talk about their births and the meaning for me. Great books - but will keep me busy! Book is good looking; the gold edging makes it look important; page lines are spaced nicely and make it easy to write on. I may be pasting a photo or two on some pages in spite of the lines. Questions in book certainly cover many topics. The book will mean much to me as I write and recapture."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Barbara
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Amazing - wish it came in Spanish December 06, 2010
"This is an amazing gift for anyone at a life milestone. I gave it to my husband I found out we were pregnant with our first child and I think it will be an amazing book for him to complete and pass down to our kids. Since then, I bought it for both of my parents and my grandmother. I would love to give it to my other grandmother, but she is a native spanish speaker and I think the book might be difficult for her to complete. I wish they would put this book out in spanish!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
NY
0
FEATURED REVIEW
thoughtful gift November 25, 2010
"I plan to give this to my husband for Christmas, and I hope he will fill it out with me so we can give it to our grown children."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
happymommy
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
November 09, 2010
"Will make a great homework present for the grandparents!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Biscuit
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great purchase October 21, 2010
"Bought this book for my husband for our 1st year Anniversary. He totally LOVE it. We can't wait to complete the book together. He told me that he always wanted this type of book but didn't know that it exists. I'm so happy with my purchase."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it) http://reviews.redenvelope.com/6303/253731/photo.jpg
overall:
5
chefvicki
location:
Silver Lake, OH
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Find October 08, 2010
"I think this is a marvelous book to hand down to the next generation, hoping they will hand it down to theirs. It is thought provoking and brings back wonderful memories"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Marye
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Wonderful Gift October 06, 2010
"I gave this as a gift to my spiritual mother, and she loved it. Now she can tell "her story.""
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Honer
location:
Texas
0
FEATURED REVIEW
What I've Been Looking For September 15, 2010
"My mother is 91 and I want to do a story of her life but could not think of all of the questions that would be important to ask. This book has really helped. The only downfall is that my mom did not go to college so there are several pages which will be left blank. The book has lived up to the other reviews I've read and then some!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
hockeygal
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Story of a Lifetime August 03, 2010
"I bought this for a friend who was retiring and moving away. She LOVED it! It's a wonderful gift to give to parents or grandparents to pass down through the generations. Would definitely recommend it!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)