unique and personalized gifts

Printer Print this page
leather excursion messenger bag
Inspired by wartime cavalry bags and map satchels, this everyday workhorse is crafted from the finest quality top-grain leather and develops a luxurious softness and patina over time. Pen, cell phone and wallet compartments keep the necessities in reach. Exclusively from RedEnvelope.
  • crafted from soft, full-grain leather
  • antiqued bronze hardware
  • interior includes pen holders, 2 pockets large enough for a cell phone and a wallet
  • dust cover included
  • may be personalized with up to three characters
  • 50"L shoulder strap
  • 16 1/2" x 5 1/2" x 12"H
customer reviews
overall:
3
mrs s
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
It's nice, BUT December 23, 2013
"The quality isn't as good as I thought it would be coming from Red Envelope; it smells like a cross between pleather and leather."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
hsexton
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great product for a great price! December 15, 2013
"Such a beautiful bag! I bought it as a Christmas present for my boyfriend and I know he's gonna love it! The leather is good quality and is so soft! Absolutely recommend this product!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Sheri
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great bag September 10, 2013
"I have gotten many compliments. Great bag for a great price"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
ExpatBrat
location:
Singapore
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Stunning! August 16, 2013
"I purchased this for my sons upcoming 21st birthday. It's absolutely beautiful as I knew it would be. My son received the duffel bag from this same line last Christmas. The quality and workmanship are superb. He will grow old with both of these classic and timeless pieces. An added bonus was waft of leather scent that hit my nose when I opened the box!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
Anaheim Hills, CA
0
FEATURED REVIEW
June 21, 2013
"My husband loves this bag! Large enough to fit both files and a computer. The pockets are great for a large smart phone as well. Looks much more expensive than the actual cost. Have received tons of compliments on it."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Teri
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
beautiful briefcase June 17, 2013
"Beautiful leather, great quality craftsmanship. Plenty of space. Great purchase!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Camille
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Awesome birthday present for my husband May 16, 2013
"This is a wonderful bag for professional types who do not want the typical briefcase or rolling bag. It combines the best of yesteryear with modern needs. The leather is of excellent quality. The straps are a little stiff at first, but that is due to the quality of the leather. Think baseball glove and how it molds over time with use. There is ample room for laptop, papers, etc. The personalized initials are an added bonus. We had given a similar bag to our daughter years ago prior to college and my husband wanted one since then. I was not able to find one similar until now. My husband was so excited to receive this for his 60th birthday!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
K2857
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Classic Leather Messenger Bag February 05, 2013
"I purchased this bag over a year ago for myself. Although this messenger bag is in the mens section, it was exactly what I had been looking for. A classic Leather messenger bag that will look even better over time from normal wear and still looks professional. This bag holds multiple files, a mac laptop, and books without any sign of strain. My only minimal compliant would be that my files and papers get little bits of flakey leather that come off from rubbing on the items inside the bag. The monogram tag really adds a nice touch! Would definitely buy again."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Dutch
location:
Chi town
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Carries in style December 27, 2012
"Best bag ever. Functional compartments make finding things a breeze."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Cindy
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
leather messenger bag December 26, 2012
"Gave to my son (32 yrs) for Christmas for his work. He loved it. It looked well made and smelled great. A big hit!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
3
Papa
location:
Baltimore
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Just OK December 12, 2012
"The bag is nice looking and made with decent leather, but is flimsy. The magnetic "snaps" on the 2 outside pockets are OK, but to close the bag - necessary to carry it using the handle - one must attach the 2 straps to the bag, and that is difficult and bound to fail. The straps have holes - liike a belt - and the 2 outside pockets have metal protrusions that must be jammed through the strap holes. With the bag being new, it is tough to even get the straps hooked. I suspect as the holes age, they will get wider, and the opposite problem will develop. Poor design."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
themrsstav
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
wonderful gift November 15, 2012
"This is my husband's favorite Christmas present from last year. It is a very handsome bag with beautiful leather. He uses it daily for work. After 11 months of use, it still looks great. The leather has become softer over time. His mother saw his bag and loved it so much that she bought herself one. Five stars without hesitation!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Brain
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
It's a really good bag. June 22, 2012
"It seems a lot of people are writing their reviews of this satchel like five minutes after they get it. Don't worry about that. This bag is great. Yes, for about two weeks the straps are difficult to fasten. That is because (like all leather products) there is a breaking in period. After a while they slip on (and stay on) with zero effort. I've had mine for about 6 months now and have used it every single day with total satisfaction. I've carried around papers, books, DVD players, clothing, beers, records, groceries, and pretty much everything else one would typically take with them from one place to another and never had any problem. Again, I'd just like to say, "Great Bag." Only drawback: not really the greatest thing to wear when riding a bike, as it has no cross strap to prevent it from sliding around front when hunched over the handlebars. Whatever. Otherwise seriously perfect. Also about once a week a stranger on the street says to me "Hey, nice bag.""
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
LHATX
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
My husband loves it June 15, 2012
"Got this for a Christmas gift for my husband and he really loves it. Uses it daily."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
1
MAB - Conestoga
location:
Conestoga, PA
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Disappointing March 03, 2012
"This was a Christmas gift from my wife. I usually love RedEnvelope goods. This has been very disappointing. There is no spine under he handle, so unless you only plan on carrying light papers, be prepared for the handle to buckle. Also, the straps are no longer remaining closed - the holes stretched within the first two months and now they pop open. Go with a bag that is a bit sturdier and with clasps or buckles instead of tension/post straps."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful Bag March 01, 2012
"I bought this for my husband for his busness trips, it is very handsome and has pockets that will be super useful, the strapes are very hard to open and close but hopfully they will loosed with use, that is the only reason i gave 4 stars instead of 5."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Meee
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Purchase January 26, 2012
"I bought this for a very special friend of mine. He really loves this bag. He is very excited about it. It's perfect for his work and masculine. It was the perfect gift. I'd recommend it for anyone."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
follow thru January 06, 2012
"We placed our first order with RED ENVELOPE at Christmas and it arrived on time and BEAUTIFULL presentation. We will order again."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
He loved it! January 04, 2012
"My fiance needed a new briefcase for work. The leather messenger bag is classic, functional and looks beautiful. He is thrilled and so am I! It was a great Christmas gift."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
cydni
location:
atlanta, ga
0
FEATURED REVIEW
great! January 02, 2012
"Bought this for my boyfriend for his birthday. Previously bought matching traveling case and tie case. We love them all."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great bag... But pricey $$$ December 30, 2011
"I purchased this bag for my husband and we both love it! I looked around before making this purchase but none of the other bags were as masculine... and less purse like.All in all it was worth the price!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
chris
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
December 27, 2011
"Great looking bag...but buckles are not secure and are not metal. One was broken upon opening"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
Response From Red Envelope:
By Red Envelope Merchandising, January 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of this product. The buckles are indeed metal, specifically a zinc cast alloy that is plated in an antique brass finish. Zinc alloys are extremely durable and secure. We apologize for the buckle being broken upon opening as this should not have occurred. Your product should be free of defects, and we would like the opportunity to make this right for you. Please contact our customer service department to facilitate an exchange.
overall:
5
Ggroover
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Perfect gift for my husband! December 26, 2011
"I bought this for my very hard to buy for husband. He loved it and we were very pleased with the quality and customer service. The only thing I would change if I could would be to add some more padding for carrying a laptop. There is currently none and may be a problem later on. Overall, I love this bag. Great price for a great product."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
suep
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Excellent gift! December 25, 2011
"A great "computer briefcase" for my PHD-candidate newphew...makes him look as cool as he is!!! I LOVE Red Envelope for all of my special people in my life. Thanks for such wonderfully unusual gifts!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Wife of business owner
location:
Pittsburgh, PA
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great quality December 02, 2011
"I purchased this messenger bag for my husband to use as a briefcase. He owns his own construction business and needed something sharp but yet durable. This bag is both. The quality is amazing and fits all his needs. I would recommend this bag to anyone. It looks professional but you know it can take the beating of the construction world."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Joey
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Holiday Gift Idea November 08, 2011
"Red Envelope TOTALLY does their gifts up right!! They come in sweet packaging and awesome notes. Very personable!! I got this for my boyfriends birthday and he loves it! It will help keep him organized and his notebooks off the floor (hopefully) This bag is so classy...it gets a 5 stars on quality."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)