unique and personalized gifts

Printer Print this page
transit token cuff links
Metro cards have rendered these currencies obsolete, but the coins have more than token sentimental value and they exude plenty of retro style. Rescued from subway systems nationwide, the tokens are set in sterling silver to commemorate iconic cities, times gone by, and the coins' nostalgic charm. The New York and Boston cuff links show both the front and back of the token; Chicago and San Francisco are identical on both sides.
  • made by Tokens & Icons, an original licensee of New York's Metropolitan Transit Authority. 100% guaranteed authentic
  • choose New York City, Boston, Chicago or San Francisco; see above for available styles
  • each pair includes a certificate of authenticity and arrives in a transit-map printed gift box
  • due to the recovered nature of the tokens, each piece is unique
  • elegant sterling-silver base with swivel backing
  • measures approximately 3/4" diam.
customer reviews
overall:
5
His Treasure
location:
Maryland
0
FEATURED REVIEW
He LOVED it! March 07, 2013
"Being a certified BK Baby, I knew he would appreciate the nostalgia and style. The packaging was awesome, the tokens are AUTHENTIC and it was a gift well deserved as much as it was received."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Barbie
location:
Lincoln, NE
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Better than I thought! February 19, 2013
"I bought these cuff links for my husband for Valentines Day. He LOVED them. They are unique and are well made."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Mom1
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful! February 03, 2013
"Bought these for my husband (he wears a lot of cufflinks), and he loves them!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
L N OR
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
A Successful Gift ! December 26, 2012
"My husband is a native New Yorker, and although we don't live there, he travels to NYC for alot of business. His main mode of transportation is the subway so he was THRILLED to receive the cufflinks. They are well made and very attractive. Thank you, Red Envelope !!!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Beautiful December 17, 2012
"The cuff links are beautiful. Very good quality. I would recommend them highly. Very nice special memento."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Kelly
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Sentimental Purchase December 13, 2012
"I bought these for my father in law as a Christmas gift. My husband, who also grew up riding the "T", saw them and was immediately jealous. I may end up getting him a pair as well."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Lisa S.
location:
Indianapolis, IN
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Awesome Gift!! November 27, 2012
"Gave these cufflinks to my brother-in-law for his 45th birthday. He used to use these muni tokens in San Francisco when he was a small boy. My husband liked them so much that I have now ordered a second pair for him! I plan to buy a french cuff shirt and present them together for Christmas. By the way, these cufflinks look MUCH better in person!!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Carebear
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Finishing touch November 01, 2012
"I have had my eye on these for awhile now. I have sons and sons-in-law in each of these cities and they all use public transportation. I bought the cuff links and then dress shirts with french cuffs, attached the cuff links and wrapped them up. A great gift with a finishing touch."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
gsm4
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Perfect gift February 19, 2012
"I purchased these cuff links for my husband for Valentines Day. He grew up in the city so they are a reminder of past good times. He loves them!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
newlywed
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Practical & Sentimental February 15, 2012
"I gave these to my husband as a gift for our first Valentine's Day as a married couple. He's originally from New England, and is familiar with the "T" and the old tokens he used when he lived up there. So I thought these would be a great reminder of happy memories of home. He really loves them & even the box they came in, which has a small map of Boston on the lid. Very clever gift. I'm usually forced to think outside the box with his gift-giving- he isn't easily impressed, preferring practical over sentimental. These cufflinks are both, AND he's impressed- wife scores.. I'm glad I came across them!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
crazy cook
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
cuff links January 09, 2012
"very nice my son was so happy to get them for christmas"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
RoMeucci
location:
Portland, OR
0
FEATURED REVIEW
My Husband LOVED them... January 05, 2012
"I bought these for my husband for Christmas. We enjoy traveling to NY and I thought these would be a great reminder of our trips. These are classy, well made, great packaging. Thank you RE for another brilliant product that makes gift giving so easy!!!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Tex-Yorker
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Perfect January 03, 2012
"These are delightful cufflinks...perfect for my New York-ophile brother-in-law!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
momof3sons
location:
Long Island, NY
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Huge Surprise December 27, 2011
"I was browsing the Red Envelope site and decided to search for cuff links. I was looking for a Christmas gift for my 30 year old son who lives in Manhattan. The price was within the budget and I knew that they would be something he would not expect me to buy! The quality is beautiful and the gift was well received."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
podemskim
location:
Chicago, IL
0
FEATURED REVIEW
perfect surprise bday gift December 19, 2011
"This was a last minute surprise gift for my husband. He's a big Chicago history buff so these were perfect! I'm very happy with this purchase."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Chicago Kid
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Nice quality November 27, 2011
"A nice remembrance of times past. They make a nice gift and the quality is good."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Mrs. P
location:
Severn, MD
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Valentines Day Gift February 21, 2011
"I gave these to my husband for Valentine's Day. He's from NYC, and he loved them. They also come in a really great box that has a subway map design. There was no tarnishing at all, and the silver backing gleamed. These cufflinks make a great addition to his collection, which he proudly displays in a cufflinks case, also from Red Envelope."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
A ATL
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
great gift February 18, 2011
"This was a great Valentine's gift for my boyfriend. We recently visited NYC, and now he can remember it forever! The cuff links are very high quality, and the certificate and box are a great addition to make a very nice gift. Very pleased and so was he!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Mrs BEM
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Perfect Valentine's gift! February 17, 2011
"My fiance loved them! The cuff links are unique as is the transit map gift box. NYC holds a special place in our hearts and these were a perfect way to remind him."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
DoubleRSW
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Fabulous Choice February 14, 2011
"My husband is from Queens, NY and I thought these cufflinks would be a great addition to his collection and have meaning as well! He loves them! Really a very creative and unique cufflink and I have to say that his favorite cufflinks are from Red Envelope! Keep them coming!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
4
sunny
location:
Toronto, Canada
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Great cufflinks for the NYC lover December 26, 2010
"I bought these cufflinks for my husband to celebrate our 10th anniversary. He loved them, especially as we both have loved NYC since before we met. I would say, however, that the tokens themselves are not as shiny as I would have hoped and are in the photos (which is why I rate them ¨good¨ rather than ¨excellent¨. None-the-less I would recommend them to anyone!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
Beej
location:
1
FEATURED REVIEW
great looking December 20, 2010
"This is a Christmas gift for a guy who is hard to buy for--he has great taste and always dresses well and lives in downtown Chicago (can you guess which city I bought??) so I thought I'd try these and see if they looked decent. I'm very happy with them and I think he will be too. The accompanying certificate of authenticy helps with the explanation and makes it more special. Highly recommend."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
2
ejcb
location:
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Arrived Badly Tarnished December 05, 2010
"I would suggest sending the Chicago cuff links to yourself to clean with silver polish before giving them as a gift. I have never purchased a new item that was so badly tarnished. The padded envelope was damaged in shipping, but thankfully the cuff link box was in tact, although filled with little bits of the envelope padding. Not sure why I was charged so much for shipping when they simply throw it in an envelope. Not my best Red Envelope experience."
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)
overall:
5
chimpmom
location:
Dubai, UAE
0
FEATURED REVIEW
Total Hit! October 12, 2010
"My husband is a die hard Chicagoan though we now live in Dubai. So I got these for sentimental reasons as well as an anniversary gift, and they are beautiful! My husband collects cufflinks and I'd found another set that I liked that were $300.00 and was about to get them when I saw these. These were a much bigger hit than the others would have been. They're a great conversation piece without being "kitschy", and very classy looking. I think they will be the favorites for a long time to come!"
(Click anywhere inside this popup to close it)